Email #12

August 24, 2015

Hello everyone! What a great week this has been!

We were challenged to do a fast (skipping 2 meals, along with prayer and some serious pondering and scripture study) in order to bring to our attention all of the things that we can do to have the Holy Ghost with us more in our daily lives. So I began about 15 days ago, and among that list of things to give up (for a period of at least 40 days) are: Taylor Swift (just humming a song, trust me, I do it way too much) , caffeine, not writing in my journal, not speaking to every person I see, etc. So I made this list and I have had so much fun seeing how my perspective has changed on so much in even just these past few days! While I have felt my health and well-being just sky rocket, I have also felt the Spirit in my life with so much more intensity. I LOVE that our Heavenly Father has given us the gift of the Holy Ghost as a constant companion, and I love that I have been able to feel that more in my life! Such a blessing!

Last week, we met a really cool guy named Thomas, who seemed so solid. Well Thomas has been avoiding us, however, we still love him! I am including him in this email because I have this funny feeling we will be hearing more about him in the future!

We have been working a lot with some less active members of the church! A lot of our success has been in just going and visiting with these members who have, for whatever reason, lost the desire to pray and come to church and read scriptures. So what do we do? We go and read and pray with them, and invite them to church! We have about 5 families that we are focusing on, and last Sunday, most of them walked through those doors! I know that there is so much power in inviting!

Lat week, we did surprise service with this kid named Andrew, who was out Hula-hoing his yard (if you are like me, and thought that was a cuss word at first, I can assure you that a ‘hula hoe’ is simply a gardening tool that does not have a lot of practical use in Florida) we helped, and he invited us back. We came and taught him, his sister, and his grandma twice more this week, and it was so much fun and so spiritual! If you have never heard Joseph Smith’s account of the first vision, you need to! It is so tender, and the spirit is so intense, especially in situations when those listening are so humble, as was this family. Well, they are not allowed to meet with us anymore, because the mom decided that it was not a good idea for the kids. We totally understood, and so we will not have the chance to go back and visit with them, but I am so grateful for those experiences!

Last night, we found our investigator! Daily! She is so cool! I am not sure if I have talked about her before, but we met her about a month ago, and taught her and it was great. But she ended up getting kicked out of her house (unrelated to us, I swear) and so we lost her, but last night we were walking around (like always!) and we found her! such a miracle! so I will keep you updated.

I love you all! Thank you for all of the support, I can literally feel it on the tough days!

HAVE A GREAT WEEK!

DSC_7947

Leave a Reply

